Blogging101 Truth

Blogging 101: One vial of veritaserum…

Who should I give it to? What questions should I ask? Should I try some Harry Potter style mischief, reveal the truth about one of the world’s problems or question my own little world?

I guess that depends on what ‘truth’ actually is, how honest we are with ourselves and how realistic our perception of life around us is.

‘Truth’ is that which is in accordance with accepted beliefs, fact or reality, and is therefore subject to human opinion and the extent of the knowledge of the human race. So surely not all things are actually the ‘truth’ after all? I mean, for how many years did we think the world was flat?! Galileo once said, “all truths are easy to understand once they are discovered; the point is to discover them.

Each person has a different perception of the world we watch together, so it is a collective of opinions, a perspective, not the truth. Take recalling an event for example – each person’s memory will be slightly different, based on the individuals view of the world and the place we perceive ourselves to be within our own constructed reality. There are definitely more than two sides to every story…

Perhaps this veritaserum is a potent cocktail of different liquors? Then we’d end up drunk and on come the beer goggles, “trust me, she was gawjus mate…”

And why is it that we wear rose-tinted spectacles when reminiscing about the past or thinking about loved ones, even if things were much less than perfect? We are actively hiding the truth from ourselves. Our minds and memory are clever things; just maybe they are saving us from ourselves, preserving us from the trauma of the whole truth and nothing but the truth?

I think I’d like the veritaserum for myself, to make my mind spit up my unconscious suppressions and, for a bit of magic miracle stuff, the big reveal! Crystal clear clarity on who I am as a person and where I fit into the fabric of life. Although even this would be based on my own perception of reality, so may not be true! I feel I’m in a little loop here, but as Nietzsche says, “on the mountains of truth you can never climb in vain: either you will reach a point higher up today, or you will be training your powers so that you will be able to climb higher tomorrow.” And I’m taking comfort in that – if the point in life is to get from A to B, one is birth and the other is death so it’s all about the journey, discovery and experience!

Journeys take time, and with time comes age, and with age comes wisdom. As I look at the vial, I’m surprised to find it isn’t a magic potion. I hold in my hands an hourglass, the sands of time passing from one compartment to the next. As I watch the grains slide, a clock ticks in the background and I realise Father Time will reveal all.

Some people think that the truth can be hidden with a little cover-up and decoration. But as time goes by, what is true is revealed, and what is fake fades away.” Ismail Haniyeh is right. Time reveals, heals and will give you all the truth you need.

P.S. Blogging101 requested a post based on today’s Daily Prompt – once the creative juice started flowing I could hardly stop but my tired, swimming mind can’t continue and the clock is about to strike midnight, so before I disappear down the rabbit hole or into the matrix, goodnight!

5 thoughts on “Blogging 101: One vial of veritaserum…

  1. masamanda

    Wow, you really did express what I was trying to say in my own blog a lot more eloquently. I will add, though, that I’ve never liked the idea that “drunken words are sober thoughts” I find that I never really mean the things I say when I’m drunk. Sure I may spew out unfiltered thoughts that jump in my mind, but that doesn’t mean they are an expression of my true self. To give a terrible example, if you see an someone fall over, your immediate reaction might be to laugh, but a split second later you may also be genuinely concerned for them. Just because it took you more time to process the second thought, doesn’t make it any less honest or true.

    Like

    Reply
    1. letthestarsout Post author

      Thanks, I thought your piece was great too – I hope people will read both. I meant more beer goggles relating to vision than actual blunt truths but I do agree with you. I think it depends on the topic of conversation, and the level of intoxication as well! Sometimes there are grains of truth that come out but on the whole yes, it does tend to be the mouth engaging before the brain. I read on somebody’s blog (wish I could remember who) that in the past certain people of authority used to drink whilst debating because they thought it was impossible to lie whilst drunk! I’m not convinced haha 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

