Charlie and the Chocolate Factory the muscial souvenir programmes

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Tomorrow heralds the start of National Chocolate Week – but I couldn’t wait, and consumed a 110g bar of Dairy Milk tonight… Yes, I do feel ashamed – but not enough to hide it!

Chocolate Week and the autumnal weather is the perfect excuse (if you need one) for heading into London’s West End to see the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory musical. And take advantage of Love Theatre’s free ice cream offer as well!

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory experience
I went recently on a Monday night, and was still buzzing and smiling well after I got home (I think the free ice cream in the interval helped too!). It was uplifting, exciting, well-produced and worth every penny – I had no idea I’d been watching the performance for over two hours. Time flies when you’re having fun!

Outside Theatre Royal Drury Lane London

My companion was not expecting it to be so good, and was enthralled by the fantastic sets, the incredibly talented actors (especially the young ones) and the way the story was presented. Not altogether true to Roald Dahl’s book, it had had a 21st century update which was very entertaining to watch.

A massive theatre fan, the magnificent old buildings are part of the joy for me. The Theatre Royal off Drury Lane is one of the oldest examples in London, and is so grand. Sit and take it in during the interval – if you’re not too busy buying your own Wonka bar or collecting your free ice cream!

Inside Theatre Royal Drury Lane London

The cherry on the cake was the exceptionally smiley, happy and friendly staff – they really stood out from my other theatre experiences. Perhaps they are feeding them Wonka bars?!

Make a day of it…
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory only hit the stage in the summer of 2013 and in celebration, the nearby hotel One Aldwych launched an afternoon tea inspired by the musical. I went last year and I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed the dessert selection; rich golden eggs, the cute and delicious mini chocolate milks and guessing the candy floss flavours!

One Aldwych hotel Charlie and the Chocolate Factory afternoon tea

So I won’t try to recount my delight – experience it for yourself and take along a sweet-toothed companion! Nom nom nom…

Leave a Reply

